Maker Post #3 Remixing the remixed

 This is an awesome video of where technology is going. After you watch the video, take a moment and read through my final thought of remixing. Though you are not seeing a lot of technology here check out my remix of Maker #2 blog post for a full description of my lesson plan. 

http://quietube6.com/v.php/http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d9ZRDRPqoXo

I Definitely see myself using the ideas I picked up from the squishy circuits. I plan on trying out the Funky Junkie Friends for my Art I Sculpture class or I may re-mix the idea for my Art II class for the Movement unit Currently we make mobiles and study Alexander Calder. After learning about the circuitry and  finding out how to make energy packs with pennies, I could add the idea of moving parts, as Calder started out using small motors. Sometimes students struggle with the balancing the mobile must have for correct assembly. This would take out that piece and they could still get the concept of kinetic movement. I love to add choices  for students to encourage creativity. This is another element that will make that possible. When students are given multiple choices, I feel it encourages play yet helps them explore areas they may have not considered before or possible try a familiar concept yet make something new.

I am also very much of the opinion when using the UDL method all students find success at a level they can preform. The simple set up of the What, How and Why of any project helps me from missing areas I may accidentally overlook. Art I an area that naturally lends itself to creativity.  I would not use the play doe because I thinks students would connect it too closely to the  pottery/ceramic classes we offer. Though it has some connections there, I would use the electronic aspect of the squishy circuits.  Since they would be making a sculpture, the penny circuit would work better and longer because it would not dry out like the play doe would.I would consider having an advanced physics student come in and give an explanation of the positive and negative  currents. I would have them explain what is happening within the circuitry, how the LED blubs light, or unit turns; and why we could use this to show kinetic movement. Students like to listen to their peers. It gives validity to the connections being made. I am glad I got the idea and I will have to post pictures int the classes I use them in.

To View the Rubric CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

